How to Deter Deer From the Garden

WARNING THIS MAY BE DISCUSTING TO SOME,
but I had to share

An elderly friend told me today how the husband of a friend of her’s would deter deer from eating his watermelons and cantalopes.
He would use his urinal and take it and pour the urine around the edge of his garden. 
I was told that the male unine would stop the deer from crossing into the garden and that female urine would not work.
The man has done this for years and says it works.

     I’m not saying I’m going to do this or rather ask my Dad to. lol  I just wanted to pass along one more way to keep your garden safe.
     I personally think the best organic and safe way to deter deer, rabbits, squirrels or any varmint is a dog.

3 responses to “How to Deter Deer From the Garden

  1. Well…the use of urine to deter deer may not be a topic for everyone but most gardeners have already heard it. A dog’s hair is also a good option including spreading it around the edges of the garden. There are all kinds of sprays you can purchase, but most need to be reapplied after it rains. Fighting deer for your yard is a major challenge, but gardening is for the strong of heart so we keep looking for new options.

  2. Grin, If I was out ‘marking’ my garden to keep out the chicken and garden eating pest at bay, my old male dog would just be calmly following me and hiking his leg to re-mark his territory!

    Happy gardening

Leave a Reply

