Oh I Wish It Would Rain

It has not rained in over 2 weeks now and the ground is very dry.  I’ve noticed that the ground in the deep woods along our lane to the house are looking dry.  Even though, the queens anne lace, yarrow, and the black-eyed susans are blooming like crazy along the road sides and fields.  There is a queens anne lace that bloomed last year right next to the mailbox and this year it is back; so pretty.
This is last yrs. bloom:

    The garden is doing well.  I am having to water something everyday.  I’ve a rotation on the watering of the corn, green beans and tomatoes to every other day.  I keep waiting for the green beans to bloom, but I’ve not seen any.  I just know that they would if the rain would shower on them.  There is just something about rain water that is better than tap water that just makes plants come alive.
     The potato plants still have blooms on top of them.  I’d say the blooms have been there a couple of weeks; looks like a flower garden. 

     My orange bell pepper plants are making, but the peppers are green so far.  I am new to growing these and I don’t understand why they’re green and not orange.  Perhaps they will turn orange as they mature. (?)  I know if they don’t I’ll have to give them away; green bell peppers don’t like me.
     It is time to plant the okra and I’ve got a bit of a grassy patch in the garden where they go.  This morning 7:00 ish  I headed up there to till and in the end it didn’t go well.  I started with the grassy patch (did I mention Bermuda Grass? Previous Post) and just as I finished that the tiller died.  I discovered it had Bermuda grass wrapped all around the blades; so I cut that out with some sissors.  The tiller wouldn’t start.  I looked at the blades and discovered that one of the locking pins was not sitting right  so I took it out with much effort.  I compared it to the other side and that sides pin moved freely.  So I reset the blades by pushing them toward the center (the blades are removeable for putting on an attachment) and replaced the locking pin.  The tiller did not start.  The tiller went back into the shed and I am in my cool house in front of my fan.  Bad side…I did need to till a few patches of grass here and there.  Good side of this story…I did what I went out to do.

5 responses to “Oh I Wish It Would Rain

  1. I know we need rain! We haven’t had any since April 17th, so everything is pretty much burned up here. We’ll have to hope June is friendlier! Don’t worry, the pepper looks fine – it will turn orange when it starts to get ripe – my cayennes took forever to turn red last year, but I ended up with three big dried strings of them.

    • I was watching the Ch. 24 news (Fayetteville,AR) today and they said it should storm tomorrow sometime. I HOPE THEY ARE RIGHT! We could use a soaker, but I’ll take any rain at all.

  2. Queens Anne Lace is gorgeous! I believe the pepper will need to mature fully to become orange.

  3. It all looks great! If the weather man is right, we might both get some rain by Friday. 🙂

    • We (AR) got rain last night and it is supposed to rain again tonight and tomorrow sometime. The weather is going to cool off into the 70’s for a couple of days. It will be nice to not have that 90 degree weather for a bit.
      Happy growing!

Leave a Reply

