Mixed Dill Pickled Veggies

As I mentioned in my post eariler today I made some Dilled Vegies while I was canning the green beans.  Did I mention I Love To Can?

Mixed Dill Pickled Veggies

Gather up your vegetables to pickle.
Wash, clean, peel, slice, remove seeds whatever you need to do to prep.

     You can dill pickle lots of things: zucchini, yellow squash, carrots, celery, bell peppers,  pimentos, califlower, broccoli, green beans, onions, banana peppers, cucumbers, and more, I’m sure, but I can’t think of more right now.
     Last year I pickled two half pint jars of red radishes.  I thought this was unique, but it turns out, after internet research, that  Chinese/Japanese people use them in salads and such. 
     My Mother used to pickle bell peppers and onions together.  I loved them as a youngester.  I remember they were sweet.  When I find the recipe I will post it.

For 2 quarts:
For my jars today I used:
2 med. cucumbers
16 Sweet Banana Peppers, assorted sizes
25 small onions
8 cloves garlic
Fresh dill sticks (I had no seeds.)
Note: 2 teaspoons dill seed, preferred
3 cups Apple Cider Vinegar
1 cup water

DilledVeg1

First I made a salt water bath for the cucumbers by mixing 1 Tbsp. salt with 2 c. water in a three pound butter tub.  Stir to melt salt.  I ended up putting all the vegies in the salt water, but didn’t leave them there long; about 20 mins. while I did other things.

DilledVeg2

I sliced the cucumbers into chunks and after removing the seeds I did the same to the Sweet Banana Peppers.  For the onions, if they were the size of a pearl onion I left them alone, but the larger ones I sliced thickly.

Pour 3 cups Apple Cider Vinegar and 1 cup water in a enamel or stainless steel pot.  Add 2 to 3 Tablespoons of canning salt.  Stir until salt is melted.  Heat to a boil.

Put your lids in  a saucepan with about 2-inches of water.  Heat to a boil and lower temp. to Med. or low.

Fill your jars: In the bottom of the jars place 2 garlic cloves and 1 tsp. dill seed.  Then layer the cucumbers, banana peppers, and onions, in any order, till you fill the jar.  Add 1 tsp. dill seed and 2 more cloves of garlic.

Pour the boiling vinegar mixture into the jars.  Wipe off top rim of jars and put lid and ring on.  Tighten lid well.  Sit on towel till cool.  Wait for the lid pop to tell you your jars have sealed.  
Mixed Dill Pickled VeggiesDone!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~
May YOUR garden produce beyond your expectations.

Leave a Reply

