It Rained

The dark rainy looking clouds that have teased us with rain for the past few days have been blown away by the wind and it brought the real rain clouds this morning.  The rain only lasted about a half hour, but I will not complain. 

My bell peppers continue to get bigger and are not turning orange.  It’s my guess that someone put the wrong stick in the 4 pk.; pehaps at the market. Who knows.  I’ve picked 4 so far off two of the three plants.  I’ve been thinking about the jars of bell peppers and onions my Mother used to can since I mentioned them in a eariler post.  I went a head and made one jar yesterday just so I could relive old memories.

Pickled Bell Peppers and Onions
Mothers’ recipe does not list it but I’m guessing the vinegar solution will fill 3 to 4 jars.  No amount of the bell peppers and onions listed either, again I’m guessing, for 4 jars 6 bell peppers and 6 med. onions.  That’s 2 per jar depending on size of your vegetable.

2 c. cider vinegar
1 c. water
1 c. sugar
Salt, 1/2 tsp. per pint

Heat the above in a large enamel or stainless steel pot.  Bring to a boil.
Remove seeds from bell peppers, slice into 1/4 to 1/2-inch rings.
Cut onions into 1/4 to 1/2-inch rings.

Stack onion and bell pepper slices alternately in jars.  Cover with boiling vinegar mixture.
Put on lids and tighten the rings as you put them on, securely.
Do Not shake.  Sit aside on a towel in a draft free place and listen for the poping sound of the sealing lid.  Wait 3 weeks or more before opening.  This allows the peppers and onions to absorb the vinegar and sugar.    Enjoy!

 

2 responses to “It Rained

  1. Glad to hear you got a bit of rain! Gosh, I would love some. I’ve almost given up hope of seeing any more this summer 😦

    • I’m sorry you didn’t get any rain. I was thinking that you might have gotten some of that storm that passed thru. It doesn’t look very good for this coming week either. Is your garden staying alive? I hope the fires stay a bay during all the 4th of July fireworks.

Leave a Reply

